To discover…

L’Aude, what a beautiful department to discover !

Situated between two mountain ranges, the Black Mountain and the Pyrenees, bordered by the Mediterranean, our department, also called Pays Cathare, invites you to travel and dream…

La Cité de Carcassonne (about 20 min walk from the campsite)

Dame Carcas who rang victory, Raimond-Roger Trencavel, viscount of Carcassonne, tell you their lives through the largest fortified complex of the Middle Ages. Restored at the end of the XIX century, the CIté of Carcassonne, a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1997 reflects the iconic image of royal power for several centuries.

Come with us to relive the burning of our beautiful cité on July 14th,  …

But in Carcassonne, it‘s not just the medieval city

Around the corner, the town center opens its doors. Stroll around the river Aude or between parks and  museums, the choice is plentyfull. Take advantage of local markets, enjoy a break on the Canal du Midi, or have fun at Cavayère lake !

 

And nearby?

The scenery here is very diversified between the  countries of Carcassonnais, Lauragais, Haute Vallée and Corbières Minervois, the range is wide and rich in color!

 25 minutes drive from Carcassonne is one of the finest natural curiosities. The Gouffre Géant de Cabrespine dominates the village of Cabrespine, near the Pic de Nore on  Montagne Noire. The gulf is known for its impressive dimensions: 80 m wide and 250 m deep. Its constant temperature of 14 degrees makes it a great place to visit, especially when the heat is scorching hot during the summer!

You’ll hear  frequently that you are in Catharland , a so-called heresy which is  part of our history. You will see the department is marked by a medieval architecture, which includes “the Citadels of Vertigo.”  The Montagne d’Alaric in the Corbières stands proudly, and  its treasure is still  concealed, you’ll die trying to find it!! It is an ideal place for a shady walk. Hikers, mountain bikers, this mountain is for you!

Finally, we can not talk about the region without mentioning wine! IGP Carcassonne, Malpere, Cabardes, Corbières, Minervois, Limoux, all these wine regions and their wineries are waiting to awaking your taste buds.

You‘ll see that Carcassonne and its surroundings offer something for everyone! For more information please contact the Tourist Office of Carcassonne.

Nearby: Fishing – canoeing – canyoning – rafting – rock climbing – caving – hiking – golf – tennis – horse riding – tree climbing – go-karting

Must see: City Festival in July and August (involving major international artists), 14/07 fireworks (2nd biggest in France), specialities: cassoulet, regional wines to discover

See you soon !!

 

Crédit photos Valérie Lafon / pays carcassonnais , A Falvard.

À découvrir…

L’Aude, quel beau département à découvrir!

Situé entre deux massifs montagneux ,la Montagne Noire et  les Pyrénées, bordé par la méditerranée , notre département, appelé également Pays Cathare, vous invite au voyage et au rêve…

La Cité de Carcassonne (environ 20 min à pied de notre camping)

Dame Carcas qui sonna victoire, Raimond-Roger Trencavel , vicomte de Carcassonne, vous content leurs vies à travers le plus vaste ensemble fortifié du Moyen Âge. Restaurée à la fin du XIXème siècle, la Cité de Carcassonne, classée au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO en 1997, reflète l’image emblématique du pouvoir royal durant plusieurs siècles.

Venez vivre avec nous, le temps d’un 14 juillet, l’embrasement de notre belle Cité…

Mais à Carcassonne, il n’y a pas que la Cité…

Au détour d’une rue, le centre ville vous ouvre ses portes. Flânerie en bord d’Aude, ballade entre parcs,musées, le choix est multiple. Profitez des marchés locaux, offrez-vous une parenthèse sur le Canal du midi, ou encore amusez-vous au Lac de la Cavayère !

 

Et les alentours?

Le paysage est ici très diversifié, entre pays carcassonnais, lauragais, haute vallée, corbières minervois, la palette est large et riche en couleur !

A 25 min de Carcassonne, en voiture, se trouve une des plus belles curiosité naturelle. Le Gouffre Géant de Cabrespine domine le village de Cabrespine, non loin du Pic de Nore dans la Montagne Noire. Le gouffre est connu pour ses dimensions impressionnantes : 80 m de large pour 250 m de profondeur. Sa température constante de 14 degrés en fait un lieu idéal à visiter, surtout si la chaleur se fait rude durant l’été !

Vous l’entendrez souvent, vous êtes en lieu Cathare, une dite hérésie, qui fait partie de notre histoire. Le département, vous le verrez, est marqué par une architecture médiévale, dont font partie « les Citadelles du Vertige » . Dans les corbières se dresse fièrement la Montagne d’Alaric, dont le trésor, encore dissimulé, en a fait trépasser plus d’un! Lieu idéal de promenade ombragée ou non. Amoureux de la randonnée, de VTT, cette montagne est faite pour vous !

Enfin, nous ne pouvons pas vous parler du département sans vous parler de vin ! IGP Carcassonne, Malpère, Cabardes, Corbières, Minervois, Limouxin, les régions viticoles et leurs caves vous attendent pour réveillez vos papilles.

 

  • Malpère
  • Vue de Cabrespine
  • Arzens
  • Gouffre Géant de Cabrespine
  • Gouffre Géant de Cabrespine
  • Montagne Noire
  • Minerve
  • Peyrepertuse "Citadelle du Vertige"
  • Quéribues "Citadelle du Vertige"
  • Montagne Alaric
  • Alaric
  • Portel
  • Fontjoncouse
  • Forêt de Nébias

Vous l’aurez compris, Carcassonne et ses alentours proposent des découvertes pour tous les goûts ! Pour plus d’informations n’hésitez pas à contacter l’office de tourisme de Carcassonne.

A bientôt parmi nous !!

 

Crédit photos Valérie Lafon / pays carcassonnais , A Falvard.